Cleaveland Miller

Cleaveland D. Miller


Baltimore, MD Office
Suite 1900
250 W. Pratt Street
Baltimore MD, 21201
Affiliations & Achievements


Cleaveland D. Miller has concentrated his practice in the representation of both private and public entities in the areas of corporate governance, mergers and acquisitions, and capital formation, including both the private and public issuance of securities. He has served on the boards of directors of several listed companies, as well as private companies and non-profit organizations, and has been a member of the audit and compensation committees. His experience in solving problems for clients has led him into serving as a mediator in business-related disputes.


  • 1963, Maryland


  • Harvard Law School (LL.B, 1963)
  • Johns Hopkins University (A.B. with honors, 1960), Member, Omicron Delta Kappa and Phi Beta Kappa

Affiliations & Associations

  • Chair, Board of Trustees, The Lyric Foundation (2014-2018)
  • Chair, Board of Directors, CMS Financial Services Corp. (2011-present)
  • Board of Trustees, Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation (2010-2021)
  • Chair, Board of Directors, United Security Assurance, Inc. (2009-present)
  • Maryland State Bar Association
    • President (1987-1988)
    • Chair, Investment Committee (2003-present))
  • Board of Directors, World Trade Center Institute, (1997-2015)
  • Counselor, St. Paul’s Church, Baltimore, Maryland (1995-2015)
  • Board of Directors, Arthritis Foundation of Maryland (1998-2005)
  • Advisory Board, Michael Dingman Center for Entrepreneurship (1992-2004)
  • Board of Trustees, Boys Latin School (1993-2004)

Special Achievements & Honors

  • The Best Lawyers in America®
    • Banking and Finance Law, 2006 – 2024
    • Corporate Governance Law, 2011 – 2024
    • Corporate Law, 2010 – 2024
    • Securities / Capital Markets Law, 1995 – 2024
    • “Lawyer of the Year,” Baltimore, Securities / Capital Markets Law, 2016
    • “Lawyer of the Year,” Baltimore, Banking and Finance Law, 2013
  • Recipient of The Daily Record’s Leadership in Law Award (2007)
  • Martindale-Hubbell AV® Preeminent™