Changes at the Maryland Commission

September, 2006

In October, Governor Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr. named R. Karl Aumann to serve as Chairman of the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Commission. Chairman Aumann had originally been appointed to the Commission in August of 2005 and, prior to coming to the Commission, had served as Maryland’s Secretary of State.

Governor Ehrlich also nominated, in February, two new Commissioners to the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Commission, both of whom have been in private practice as workers’ compensation defense attorneys. David O. Godwin, Jr., an attorney in Frederick, Maryland, with the firm of Godwin & Hickey, was sworn in as a member of the Commission in early May. Jeffrey C. Herwig, an attorney with the Baltimore law firm of Herwig & Humphreys, will join the Commission in early July of 2006.